Smash’s Bombshell

If you watched the Emmy Award-winning show Smash, you’ll know it featured a serious range of Broadway and Hollywood talent. There was music and lyrics by Marc Shaiman and Scott Whittman, who also served as Executive Producers alongside Steven Spielberg and show creator and playwright, Theresa Reback. It was Joshua Bergasse who won an Emmy for his Outstanding Choreography on the show.

In the show, Megan Hilty and Katharine McPhee battled for the part of Marilyn in the show Bombshell, created onscreen by composer Christian Borle and writer Debra Messing. Drama ensued amongst a stellar cast that included Anjelica Huston, Jack Davenport, Leslie Odom Jr., Will Chase, Bernadette Peters.

Season 1. 2012


Season 2. 2013

Season 2 introduced new stars – Jennifer Hudson, Sean Hayes, Jeremy Jordan – and Hit List, a rival Off Broadway competitor for Bombshell.



Sadly, Smash only lasted for two seasons. But, in 2015, much of the cast reunited at the Minskoff Theatre on Broadway to perform ‘Bombshell,’ the main show that drove the Smash plot from the get-go.

For one night – May 20th at 5 pm PST – the show will stream through People Magazine online to raise money for The Actors’ Fund, which is currently supporting struggling performers who have abruptly lost their livelihood during Covid lockdown.



The show is set to broadcast across People’s online platforms, but check in early to find one that works for you!

People TV

Header Photo: Mark Seliger/NBC
Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty from Smash



Palace Escape

Elizabeth Newton

Elizabeth Newton